Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas Review

Publisher: Bloomsbury (15 Aug. 2013)

Format: Paperback (432 pages)

Source: Brought

Synopsis:

Celaena has now become the King`s Champion and in exchange for her freedom she needs to do what the King asks her for 4 years. Seeming to obey the King by killing who he ask by bringing their head it looks like it`s the start of a new life for Celaena where she can do what she wants. Although she is distracted when she finds something beneath the castle that could be the answer to why Adarlan became the most powerful country and the King`s secret. Meanwhile she comes to realise what her relationship between her friends really cost.

Review:

Crown of Midnight is the second book in The Throne of Glass series and it continues Celaena`s journey. Since this is the second book in a massive six books instalment you would expect for some character development and yes there was. As a reader you get to explore the world more as well as learn more about the characters and their past. In this book I get more of a feel of the world the book is set in and see the characters grow as they learn more about each other. Although disappointingly I didn`t understand some of Celaena`s choices in the book and I felt she was annoying for making those unconditional choices.

I just want to let you know that all of the action didn`t happen until halfway to the book and I know that the author was trying to build up suspense but I felt quite bored. However this stopped because the romance immediately started to engage me as a reader and I feel sorry for a character who-must-not-be-named otherwise I`ll spoil the book. On the other hand when we get to the end of the book a whole load of information is just thrown at us, and I really couldn`t handle it because I felt as if I was in a classroom and my teacher was just lecturing without thinking about me as a student. My advice to the author would be so space out the new intricate details so that the reader wouldn`t be overwhelmed.

Meanwhile the writing was again very easy to read and to get into the book. I didn`t have any problems with the writing. I found that the way Sarah J. Maas aka The Queen wrote about the battles in the book captivated me and made turn from page to page until I finally realised I read a few chapters. Her fighting scenes are full of little detail that you expect to see on screen and it left me wanting for more.

Would I recommend this book? Yes! 100%. It`s such an addition to the first book and trust when I say this but you are left wanting for more.

I rate this book ★★★★

2015-07-31 14.49.45

2 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas Review

Comments are closed.