Contemporary recommendations

Today I have an exiting post today and hopefully you`ll end up with some books you want to read, as the purpose of today`s post is to recommend some contemporary books! Whether you want to start reading some YA contemporary or you are looking for some more contemporaries to read, I`m sure there`s a book for you.

Now the genre contemporary is a genre that is typically set in today`s modern day world. This means that it is realistic and there isn`t no made up element, such as magical creautre, and of course it is still fiction.


To the books:

The impossible knife of memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

This book hasn`t received as much representation as I would have liked because this book deserves to be talked about. It follows Hayley who has never stopped moving and her father who came back from war and know has PTSD. The book goes through the family`s struggle and how much Hayley wants to have a normal life and live like a normal teen but the horrors of war has become a barrier for that. This is definitely a tearjerker so carry some tissues.

If you found me by Emily Murdoch

This book is none like any other YA because it deals with themes that most writers don`t talk about and most readers don`t read. Carey is abandoned by her mother many times with her sister and there are times when she doesn`t come back for weeks. Although this isn`t all the story, where she is abandoned isn`t near civilization but it is in the woods. When her long lost father finds her it seems as though she can start all over again and live the normal life, but she encounters the past and relives to all the horrors of her past.

Infinite sky by C.J Flood

Despite the cover of my copy slightly putting me off when I picked this book up I was happy that I did. This isn`t such a known contemporary but it does deserve a little shout out. The reason for this is because it took me by surprised and I didn`t know what to expect when I first started. I think that you should go into this book blind because it just make the whole reading experience much more better and I wished I went into the book knowing completely nothing.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Without any doubt this book if you haven`t read this book you should because it will draw you into contemporary YA and you will end up wanting more. I have talked about this book many times on this book and it goes to show how much I love and want to spread my love  for it. The book follows Anna who has moved to France, hence the title, but she only has to live there by herself only speaking a few words of French in a city where anything can happen. She goes onto meeting St Clair who is what you want within a boy and there goes the chemistry,only is chemistry?

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

This book is By E. Lockhart and is there anything else I can say about that? The themes the book followes are growing up, secret society, boys and trouble. Read it!

2015-09-05 16.55.32_edited

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

I love this book so much. I love park and how sweet he is. I love the way Eleanor is so independent and does things for herself and how she doesn`t care what people think. You are bound to love this book and how heart wrenching it is. This is one of my most reread book and I cry every time I read it. Bring a big box of tissues and be prepared to cry your heart out.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

This book is more of an eye opener than a lovely fluffy read. There are just so many quotes that you can just live by for example:

“Why do we smile? Why do we laugh? Why do we feel alone? Why are we sad and confused? Why do we read poetry? Why do we cry when we see a painting? Why is there a riot in the heart when we love? Why do we feel shame? What is that thing in the pit of your stomach called desire?”

Please just pick it up. It`s a beautiful book that deals with such powerful but controversial themes that have huge meanings.

So that`s it. Phew, there is so many more books I could have added but I wanted to keep it to a minimum and I hope you find a new book or put up an old loves one.

Thanks for reading and if you have anymore recommendations you`d live to recommend to me tell me!

Franciska xxx

4 thoughts on “Contemporary recommendations

  1. Great rec list, I keep forgetting to read Ari and Dante even though it is obviously insanely beautiful! I really need to get my hand on that book one day as everything I’ve read about it sounds amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.