YA Fantasy Recommendations

Happy Saturday everyone!

As you can see from the title I am going to make another recommendation post because I feel like you guys enjoy this the most. Today I am going to be recommending YA fantasy, which is my favourite genre. The books I`m going to be recommending are for YA lovers who want to get started with fantasy but they don`t know where to start or readers who have started reading fantasy and want more to read. There is one adult book but all of them are YA books.

So lets get to the books…


The Queen of The Tearling by Erika Johansanย 

For people who have read so many fantasy books that they feel like they`re all the same, this book is for you. It`s a really different book compare to any other book and although this book may not be strictly YA, it reads like YA and overs themes that YA book covers. This book is about a Princess who was brought up in isolation and now since she is nineteen she is needed to go back to her home and to rule as Queen. However she may be dead within a week.

2015-09-19 12.06.19
The Throne of Glass series.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I feel like I always talk about this series and Sarah J. Maas and I`m always posting pictures of these magnificent books on tumblr. But I just can`t help it. I read this series this summer and I just can`t stop sharing my love for these books and I can`t believe that I have to wait another year for the next book to come out!

Throne of Glass (the first book) evolves around Celaena Sordothian who is an assassin. When we first see her she is offered to become the King`s Champion or stay imprisoned in the salt mines in Endovie. She takes the choice that guarantees her freedom but weeks into the competition other competitor are being found dead by something unknownโ€ฆ

2015-09-19 12.07.51
ARCs of An Ember in the Ashes and A Court of Thrones and Roses.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Speaking about the Queen of YA fantasy I can`t help but mention this book. The book isn`t part of the Throne of Glass series but it is a new, well not so new now, trilogy. A Court of Thorns ans Roses is a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast and I found this quite interesting and it is written by Sarah J. Maas so of course I immediately wanted to read it. ACOTAR is amazing so please pick it up! You will not be disappointed.

Trial By Fire by Josephine Angelini

This was one of my most favourite read of 2014 and the reason for this was because of how thrilling and captiviating the book was. It`s about alternate worlds where in one world Lily is a normal teenager but in the next she is the complete opposite. The characters are just so wonderful and I really can`t say anymore otherwise I`ll spoil the book.

The Sin Eater`s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

The plot twists in this book are sooooooo good! Even I was surprised and I normally guess the plot twists but in this book they were unexpected. Normally I would have expected the unexpected, althougt this time around I didn`t expect the unexpected. Confused? Read the book to find out what I`m talking about.

Red Queen By Victoria Aveyardย 

Now I might not have enjoyed this book but many people have and I think that this book is great start if you want to get into fantasy because many parts pf my favourite book are in this book and if you haven`t read a lot of fantasy books I feel that you`ll love this book.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

What kept me reading this book was the fact that each point of view ended on a cliff hanger! I just couldn`t stop reading it to find out what happened to the characters. I also think another reason why I liked this book was how the romance was minimal and so the action was better. Read it!


Books. There are so many fantasy books out there, so I could only recommend a few books. If you have any recommendations please tell me and I hope you`ll enjoy any of these books if you read them.

Happy reading. Franciska xxx

14 thoughts on “YA Fantasy Recommendations

  1. There’s only a couple of books on this list I haven’t read (Queen of the Tearling and An Ember in the Ashes) but if your putting them on the same level as ToG, Trial by Fire and Red Queen I NEED TO READ THEM RIGHT NOW!!! Great list!!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read nearly all of this but haven’t yet picked up The Queen of The Tearling! I honestly don’t know why I haven’t because I own both books. I just need to get to them already. So glad that you like the series — wonderful list!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.