Harry Potter and the Philosopher`s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens (1 Sept. 2014)

Format: Paperback (352 pages)

Source: Brought

Synopsis:

Harry Potter has never known his parents and he has lived with his Uncle and Auntie for as long as he remembers. However what happened to his parents is a mystery. Living with his only relatives is not such a privilege as they despise him. Even his cousin Dudley tried to do everything to make his life as miserable as possible.

Review:

I have been meaning to read the Harry Potter series for a long time but I had only ever read up the 4th book (The Goblet of Fire). Therefore I thought it was the right time to finish the whole series and see and experience why this series is so well loved.

Harry Potter is a young boy at 11 when we first meet him and he has to go through living with his horrible family until Hagrid shows up. I admire Harry because I know that I wouldn`t be able to cope. What was significant about Harry is that, although he has to go through a lot of hatred, Harry isn`t a bad boy that wants his parents back and wants revenge for all the bad actions that his family did. In addition Harry has a sense of courage and he will do everything he can to makes things right. This is quite inspirational for younger readers and people will find themselves looking up at him.

Similarly I enjoyed Hermione`s character.

“Books! And cleverness! There are more important things-friendship and bravery.”

Hermione is a clever witch who finds out that she a witch when she firsts gets her Hogwarts letter. She is book smart and tries very hard at school to try to get the top grade. Growing up, watching the films, I found her very inspirational and she encourages me to study try hard at school. I think that this is a good thing, like Harry, as she will inspire younger readers to try harder in their education.

Another interesting I found about this book is the plot. Since this book is aimed at children this means that the writing can`t be too complex. Rowling`s writing is fairly simple so that it is easy to read and makes the book universal as both children and adults can read them. This means that the book needs to have a complex plot but it is easier enough to understand. I loved it how Rowling had the main plot (The Philosopher`s Stone) and she had other little mini plots and clues along the way.

Moreover I liked the fact that each character in the book had a part to play and the plot twist in this book was unexpected. Every character had a spotlight moment as well and meant that as a reader I could find out more about the characters.

Being a children`s book Rowling makes sure that the emotions that that characters faces are as real as possible. This makes the book more realistic and it creates a sense of adventure. The character development in this book is just so real and you get to explore new friendships being made that could represent your own friendship.                     

Overall I loved this book and I would recommend it to anyone, children and adult alike. It was such a wonderful read that pulled you in immediately.

I rate this book  ★★★★★                                                           

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Philosopher`s Stone by J.K. Rowling

  1. Harry Potter is the best! It was the series that really got me engaged with reading, so I definitely have J.K Rowling to thank for that, haha! Hope you love the rest of the series that you haven’t read before 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.