The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson Review

Publisher: David Fickling Books (7 Jan. 2016)

Format: Paperback (360 pages)

Source: This book was sent to me

Synopsis:

This book is a story about a boy who feels like a girl and a boy who has had a troubled past. Together they meet and their lives have changed before they know it. For good or for the better only they will know.

 

Review:

This book was such a lovely book to read because it explore a controversial topic that doesn`t appear in YA as much as it should. When I began the book I was sure that this book would be very much heavy on the LGBT topic, but I was surprised when it wasn`t. Williamson writes in a way that the theme is the main topic of the book but it doesn`t take all the plot away. The book itself read like a contemporary book.

When I read the book I felt as though the characters were so real because of the way Williamson portrayed them. The author writes in a way that the teenage voice is the main aspect of the book. I enjoyed David`s character, although at times I was a bit confused because I didn`t know his choices for his actions. However I did like Leo because he is like a book, you see him but you don`t know who he truly is. The fact that this book is based on the transgender topic many people won`t be able to relate to the characters personally but Williamson makes sure that it is able to relate to the characters by writing them so that they resemble actual teenagers.

The plot of this book was just like a normal contemporary book (at first glance) then during somewhat in the middle of the book there was a plot twist. Now being a good book reviewer I won`t spoil you but what I can say is the plot twist was much unexpected for me. I didn`t expect what was going to happen, in a good way, and I enjoyed the plot twist as it gave another element to the book that was a bit drowsy. Overall the plot had a great purpose and it makes you read another side of this genre and it definitely makes you think but also you gain another insight that may affect you actions in the future.

To conclude I really enjoyed this book because it is just so truthful and it questions today`s society. The friendships in this book is just so beautiful. It is a quick read and so if you are looking for an alternative read or another book to read then read this book. I enjoyed it and my friends did and so might you.

I rate this book  ★★★★

4 thoughts on “The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson Review

Comments are closed.