The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury Review

Publisher: Scholastic Press (4 Feb. 2016)

Format: Paperback (336 pages)

Source: This book was sent to me 

The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury continues the plot from the first book The Sin Eater`s Daughter. However this book isn`t told from Twylla`s point but it is told from Errin`s point of view (who is Lief`s sister). There is a war going on and most people have fled but Errin hasn`t and can`t because of her mother who has changed so much that she can`t be out in public. However as the Sleeping Prince approaches Errin`s village Errin is distracted by the mysterious Silas.

After waiting a whole year for this book to come out I had very high expectations and I was desperate to continue the story that left me on a reading slump.

Overall I found this book very enjoyable to read because of the constant tension of the Sleeping Prince whom will destroy everything that comes in his way. Sometimes I couldn`t stop reading because I wanted to know what was going to happen and how the choices that Errin made would affect her. I think that Salisbury was very clever to add an element of Errin`s dreams and the plot twist was just breath taking. Although I could see it coming but I refused to believe it.

One of the main things I enjoyed about this book was the simplicity of the writing. This meant that I didn`t have any trouble getting into the book and instead I could focus on the story itself. However since I was drawn into the book and I wanted to keep reading I found myself missing parts sometimes because there wasn`t enough detail.

At some points I found the character Errin really annoying because some of the choices she made didn`t make sense and it wasn`t rational. In addition I couldn`t connect with the character Silas and I felt as though he was quite distant from me. To improve the book I think the characters should be more relatable, so that I would be able to understand the characters as if they were people.Read More »

