Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s UK (12th March 2015)

Format: Paperback ( 272 pages)

Source: Library copy 

Synopsis:

Cullen`s brother Gabriel had always been different to the other people that lived in the little town named Lily. However when he goes missing Cullen finds it hard to cope with the loss of his brother and he tries to find him. On the way he starts realising the way things work and he loses the people he loves and he also starts questioning the simple things that happens in his life.

Review:             

A while ago I come across this book whilst watching someone`s video and I saw it was compared with Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe and I thought I might give it ago. However I came into this book not knowing anything about it because I was quite surprised when there were religious references.

This book takes places in a small town called Lily, Arkansas and it follows Cullen who is bored of his town and he finds the “discovery” of an extinct bird pointless, however when his brother goes missing he will do anything to get his brother back. At the same time there is a young man who is on a missionary in Africa and both of these stories intertwine with each other in this book. The two stories coming together was written really well as I could easily understand what was happening.

On reflection I didn`t like the characters in this book because I couldn`t connect with them and they were very distance. One of the major aspect of a book is the characters but in this book the characters weren`t portrayed as real people and they were just characters in a book for me. Cullen`s reactions in this book were reactions that I wouldn`t have expected or hoped and somehow I felt this book had a heavy tone and this made it hard to get into the book. Furthermore the writing was quite dense the first time around so I had to push myself to read and finish the book.Read More »

