Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare Spolier Free Review


 

Publisher: Simone and Schuster (8 Mar. 2016)

Format: Paperback (688 pages)

Source: Library copy

Synopsis:

It`s been five years since the Dark War and Emma`s parents’ death. The Clave told her that Sebastian Morgenstern killed her parents but Emma believes someone else did and she is going to find out. However, as she gets closer to the truth, she finds herself in a difficult situation with her parabatai. No matter what parabatai must not fall in love: “the Law is hard, but it is the Law”.

Review:

First of I have no idea how to start this review! I have such mixed feelings about this book and one of the main reasons for this is because the emotions I went through.

Lady Midnight is Clare`s new book in The Dark Artifices series. It takes part five years after City of Heavenly Fire following Emma Carstairs and Julian Blackthorn. When they are offered Mark to come back in return to find out the killer of 12 notorious without blinking they take the chance. However, the task is harder than seems.

One of my favourite thing about this book is the diversity it has. There are different characters that have different sexual orientation and different races. Clare isn`t afraid to include diversity in her books and she breaks the stereotypical ice that is immediately thought of when you think of YA books.

Moreover, I found it quite lifting when Emma was the main character because in her other series the main female protagonist was normally the one being introduced into the Shadowhunter world and they weren`t necessary strong. On the other hand, you have Emma who is one of the best young shadowhunters like Jace (from the Mortal Instruments series). I just love it when we have a strong female protagonist because it inspires you to be strong like them and to not relies on people.

Then we have Julian Blackthorn who I kind of see as a Will Herondale because of the eyes and hair, but anyway let’s not get off track, he is such a strong willed character who has done so much for his family and we will continue to do anything for them, you immediately fall in love with him and his story.

I loved the plot of this book because it had a mystery and the parabatai part was so heart-breaking. I was so transfixed in this book and I even stayed up until 11pm to read it (this is very late for me). The plot of this book is easy to follow and I like how the pace of this book changed, it really kept you reading. Another aspect I enjoyed was how in the beginning there were little definitions and facts thrown in to remind or introduce what happened in the previous Shadowhunter books. Clare’s writing was easy to read and this made the book flowed seamlessly.

Overall I LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anyone because it was a joy to read and such a page turner. I cannot wait for the next book in this series!!!

One thought on “Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare Spolier Free Review

Comments are closed.