The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson Review

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s UK (5 May 2016)

Format: Paper back (528 pages)

Source: This book was sent to me

Synopsis:

Andie has a thing for being organised and planning everything that is about to come. However when her long awaited plan is destroyed she doesn`t know what to do and she definitely wouldn`t think that she would be walking dogs or spending time with her dad during the summer.

Review:

I have been waiting a long time to read a Morgan Matson book and I can tell you this book did not disappoint. This book was everything I expected from a contemporary book although the size wasn`t what I expected.

One of the main aspect of the book that I loved was the characters. Andie is such a relatable character and even if you can relate to her you`ll love her because all of her actions and thoughts are universal. She grows up a lot in this book and you get to see her find out what she wants and who she is. She also has a lot of aspirations and her background if losing her family makes the reader sympathises with her but it also gives a chance for the reader to get to know more about here. Most of the decisions she makes in this book I would make as well.

In addition this books made me remember how much I loved reading contemporary books that are based in the US because life there seems so free and I was able to understand what life was like there.

I loved how there were little extra added plots like a scavenger hunt and friendship. Even though growing up was a main theme in this book there were also other important themes like: family, friendship and romance. I thought it was very clever of Matson to embed all of the themes into one book because it was as if the book itself was a representative of YA.

Moreover the different themes and scavenger and jobs made the book much more enjoyable. Everything in this book was much unexpected (hence the title) and I loved this. The volume of the book scared me at first because YA contemporaries tend to be short. When I got a little unfocused something exiting would happen and pull me in. Therefore on an enjoyment rating it was very enjoyable and couldn`t stop reading it.

In addition the writing made the book more accessible as it was easy to read. The pace of the book varied and it made me think of a roller coaster- the book itself was a roller coaster of emotions.

Overall I loved this book. All the characters could represent everyone in the real world because they were different. The plot of this book was very interesting I didn`t get bored, not once, when I read it. If you`re looking for a light summery read then pick up this book!

I rate this book ★★★★★

4 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson Review

  1. I’ve been hearing great things about this book all over the blogosphere. Glad you enjoyed it, it sounds like the perfect summer read. Glad to hear all sorts of relationships were highlighted in the book, not just romance.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.