Rebel of the Sands by Alwym Hamilton Review

Publisher: Faber & Faber (4 Feb. 2016)

Format: Paperback (368 pages)

Source: Won in a giveaway

Synopsis:

Amani is tired of living in Dustwalk where nothing ever happens and she now wants to escape to Izman where anything was supposed to be possible. However when she became the Blue-eyed-bandit she lost her chances. Meanwhile there is a rebellion going on of the Rebel Prince causing tensions to rise and Amnai meeting the foreigner once again.

Review:                

One of the main reasons why I wanted to read this book is because of stunning cover and I`ve heard a lot about the strong female character. Rebel of the Sands is about Amani who wants to go to a city called Izman because she is tired of Dustwalk and the ways of Dustwalk. She goes and tries to get enough money to escape but she fails and she meets a foreigner who is hiding more than he is showing.

I was little confused at the start because of all the terms, such as Djinni, and the stories that were told in the book. This meant that I had to flip back pages a few times so I could get my head around the new terms. I think to improve this book there should be a glossary at the back so I would have the trouble of finding the right page, it could also improve my ability to understand what was going in the book.

However I enjoyed the book overall because I understood the main character Amani and her decisions. In a way I think she was a universal character because I didn`t have a lot in common with her but Hamilton portrays her in a way where I would be able to understand her. Another thing I loved about her was the fact that she was a strong female character. I know that there are a lot of strong female characters out there in YA, like Katniss Everdeen and Celaena Sardothien, but Amani wasn`t the reckless kind that didn`t have a heart, in a way she grew in the book and she was motivated by what was the right thing to do and not by what she wanted. She was also stubborn at times and I found these parts amusing and it shows Amani was a real person, not just a character in a book.

Even though the plot of the book was confusing in the beginning, it started to make more sense later in the book. I mainly enjoyed the book because there were little details in the beginning that made sense later and the plot twist was very surprising. I did have my suspicions but nevertheless it still came as a surprise. In addition I liked how every little key detail in the book came together to become this book picture.

A rebellion in a YA book might not be an original idea but the purpose of the rebellion in this book was unique. I`d never thought that the Rebel Prince was an important factor in this book, I was incredibly wrong as it one of the main drives of the book. It also gave Amani a chance to find out who she really was. I think one of the main theme of this book is finding out who you are and it`s such an important theme, especially in YA fantasy, because now less authors are choosing to add this theme when it`s an important one in teenagers lives. Being a teenager is when you find out about yourself and I`m glad to have done this with Amani.

At first I didn`t like the writing because it was a little too simple and it didn`t fit with the theme, but as I became immersed into the book I realised that the writing did fit. The paced varied: it was fast paced then it slow. This was another plus to my enjoyment.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I can`t wait to read the second book! I would recommend this book to fantasy lovers and to those who want a new fresh read, because was certainly one.

I rate this book ★★★★

7 thoughts on “Rebel of the Sands by Alwym Hamilton Review

  1. I own Rebel of the Sands and am planning to read it soon, so I’m almost afraid to read reviews about it in case they’re negative (and then I won’t feel as enthusiastic about reading it.) I’m glad to see you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.