A Reflection of My Reading Life

Hello guys,

Today I have the very long awaited Reflection on My Reading Life post! I have to admit that I was aiming to write one of these posts a month, however, sadly this past month has been packed full with EXAMS!!! Therefore I have to take a bit of time off from blogging, although I`m sure everything will be back to normal in a few weeks! *fingers crossed*!

A Reflection of My Reading Life is a new monthly post here on Life is Sweet in Books where I will be reflecting and telling you about what I have recently read and my reading experiences.

Since the last post of this category was a long, long time ago, we have a lot of books today!

Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

I wanted to read this book because I had seen that it was compared to Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I went into this book without really knowing anything, but I did have high hopes for it. Unfortunately I was let down, mainly because I didn`t really understand the plot of the story.

Image-1 (5)

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

This novella is written especially for World Book Day 2016 and so I was quite exited to get my hands on this and to see what a short Rowell novella would be like. I wasn`t disappointing in this novella at all! Rowell has a way capturing you and even though there isn`t a straight plot, you still get that Rainbow Rowell feel.

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

This was my first Morgan Matson book and so I obviously had very, very high expectations. I was not disappointed when I read this book. I loved this book so much and this was mainly due to the characters! You immediately fall in love with Andie and all her friends. Matson`s writing just makes you want to read on and on. As a result I cannot wait to read another of her works!

Half Lost by Sally Green

This book is the third and final installment in the Half Lost trilogy. I loved the first two books because of the portrayal of witches and magic. This book made me go through a roller coaster of emotions and Green knew exactly when to hit you, trust me, it will hit you hard! Half Lost left me bawling and due to this I would recommend this series to anyone!

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling

Next I decided to continue reading the Harry Potter series and believe it or not, Hermione`s determination to get good grades and her time-turner necklace gave me so much motivation to revise! I obviously loved this book!

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

I had been waiting a very long time to read this book and I loved it (even though it broke my heart). I was immediately launched into the Shadowhunter world when I read this book and everything about this book was perfect, although Cassandra Clare does know when to hit you with the bad news that will leave you crying for a long time.

Image-1 (4)

Kook by Chris Vick

I went into this book thinking it would be a happy summer contemporary book with a lot of fluff. However I was quite wrong and I didn`t enjoy this book as I thought I would. 😦 I thought the romance in this book was very instant and it made me cringe a few time. I just couldn`t connect with the characters and I didn`t enjoy the overall tone of the book.

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansan

This was an anticipated read for me because I loved the first book. This book didn`t disappoint. I was entrapped in this book and I couldn`t let the book down! This book definitely didn`t give me the second book slump and I cannot wait for the final installment!

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I remembered when this book first came out last year and the hype around this book was massive. However I didn`t get the chance to read this book until now. I didn`t know what to expect when I read this book and I was really surprised when I read this book. There was more than met that eye and I feel like this book is probably one of the most powerful YA book out there. I would recommend this book to anyone!

The Siren by Kiera Cass

Before I was expecting this book to give the same vibe that The Selection did, however (as usual) I was wrong. Sadly I didn`t enjoy this book and it was mainly due to the instant love and I found the relationships in this quite weird. Although I think this is fine because the Selection is much better and Cass wrote this book ages ago.

Image-1 (1)

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This book was such a roller coaster of emotions and like every other person out there in the world, I did enjoy this book, I loved it! The British wit and the loving character of Lou made my heart swell! If you get a chance to read this book please it because its worth it! The movie was also perfect!

Image-1 (6)

Percy Jackson by Rich Riordan

Percy Jackson has been a long awaited read for me and I have been waiting a long time to read it. Surprisingly I found this book was very different to the movie adaptations and it made me quite sad. However the plot of the book kept reading till late and everything about this book was so funny and enjoyable. I will looking forward to read the whole series!

Reflection time

I think this refection post was a better one than the last one because I think I have read more diverse books and I even branch out to read 2 adult books. Now I`ve realised what I like to read and what kind of book I would like and this shows that I have grown as reader. As weird as it sounds, I think that I have become quite mature with reading books and I could read more adult fiction if I wanted to, but I`m just going to stick with read the rest of the Percy Jackson series for now. 

2 thoughts on “A Reflection of My Reading Life

  1. I’m glad you’re getting more comfortable reading different kinds of books! It’s great that you’re open to the ideas as well.
    It looks like you had a pretty good reading month
    Hope you did well on your exams!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.