Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan Review

Publisher: Puffin books (2013)

Format: Paperback (375 pages)

Source: Brought

Synopsis:

Percy Jackson had never heard of the work Half blood before he entered Camp Half Blood. However to him being a Half Blood doesn`t bring all joy or lightness, but it brings a prophecy that doesn`t look like it will end well.  On the other hand, before Percy has time to settle, he must find his mum and the real thief of Zeus` master bolt.

Review:

I have been meaning for a long time to read this popular series by Rick Riordan, however I`ve been putting off reading it until now. When I started the book the thing that shocked me the most was the humour of Percy (our protagonist). Riordan had cleverly added humour straight away and this intrigued the reader and made the book more assessable. 

Furthermore I think that Percy is quite a universal character because everyone will somehow be able to relate to him and children and adult alike will be able to understand him. Moreover I think it’s because Percy is aimed at children which makes him easy to like. Riordan makes sure that Percy doesn`t lack any emotions and so readers are able to feel emotionally what Percy is feeling the in book.

Similarly I really like Annabeth`s character. In my opinion she was like Hermione, from the Harry Potter series but, more strong and more like a fearsome character. I can see why Riordan chose to write a character like her as she inspires young people to not follow the stereotypes and to be the person you want to be. Annabeth is loyal and smart and I hope to see more of her further on in the series.

Now before I read this book I watched the movie adaptations, so I kind of knew what was going to happen in the book. However I was completely surprised at how different the book was in comparison to the movie. Even though I think the movie was a poor adaptation of the books, I think that movie was a great movie itself, it didn`t affect my enjoyment for the book. The book was had very unexpected plots and the book was very intriguing. Most of the time I wasn`t sure what was going to happen and this added to the tense anticipation I was feeling.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I couldn`t put it down. The anticipation of wanting to find out what was going to happen lead me to flipping every single page until I finished the book. I would recommend this book to people who love to read adventure/fantasy/amazing half-blood books! I also loved the fact that when I read this book I was also being education of Greek Mythology!

I rate this book ★★★★

