Me before you by Jojo Moyes Review

Publisher: Michael Joseph (5 Jan. 2012)

Format: Paperback (512 pages)

Source: Brought

Synopsis:

Lou Clark has never been anywhere and she has never done anything exiting before. When she meets Will a surprising friendship forms and the both of them transform for the better. 

Review:

Before I read this book I was pretty anxious mainly because I had never branched out of the YA/children`s genre, therefore this book was quite a large step for me. Surprisingly, when I read this book I thought it was going to be very adult like and the tone of the book would be very hard and serious, however as I actually read the book I found it very easy to read and I immediately clicked with Lou.

This romantic book follows a 26 year old called Lou who has just lost her job and she goes out of her comfort zone to be a carer for a man who has quadriplegic. She has to try to get close to Will Traynor before it’s too late and she also has to face the fact that the world if greater than she thinks.

One of the main things I love about this book is the characters. Lou is such a relatable character and the reader will immediately fall in love with her. The fact that she can be a little bit dopy at times added a little bit of humour. She comes from a family who are struggling economically and so her job as a carrier if vital for her family. Moyes makes her a sympathetic character at first, but as the book goes on the reader starts to relate with her and ultimately understand her.

Moreover I was captured by Moyes ability to make you believe in the characters like they are real people. Every emotion the characters has it sinks in with you; for example, when they feel pain you also feel pain. I think this was mainly due to Moyes writing, which persuades the reader to keep on reading. In addition, whilst British wit gave a humorous effect, Moyes hit you when you won`t expect it and you will be left with tears of sadness. There I warn you to carry a massive box of tissues.

However I think the plot of the book was quite predictable and so I knew what was going to come and as a result, I would prepare for it. Although I did enjoy the subplots because they made the mood of the book lighter to prepare you for the worse that would come. I liked how Moyes included the theme family; this is because it made the characters for believable and relatable. It was the theme of family that made me fall for Lou and Will.

Overall I did enjoy this book and it was such a tearjerker. I would recommend this book for those who love romance and contemporary books.

I rate this book ★★★★★

